The Trend is Mightier Than The Word

The Doodles That Set a Trend

When I’m home alone with time to spare, I have a tendency to stalk celebrities on their Instagram, particularly the breathtaking Rosie Huntington-Whitely. I’m like obsessed with her clothes, lips, and everything else she does, which is actually how I came across Cyrielle, the visionary artist behind Trendydoodles.  When I saw the drawing she made of my role model, Rosie, I instantly fell in love with the work that she does! Naturally, I too, had to have a trendy doodle!

rosietrendydoodle

So I did what any aspiring journalist/blogger would do, I contacted the artist herself to inquire about doing a special doodle for us.  I must say that it was such a pleasurable experience interacting with her.  She is extremely nice, and even granted us the honor of a mini interview about her work.

Here is what the artist had to say:

SB: When & what made you start Trendy Doodles?

C: It’s a bit of a long story: After I finished my studies in art direction, I started looking for a job in an agency. I searched for almost a year getting negative answers after negative answers, and about 3 months ago, I thought I just couldn’t take it anymore so decided to start working for myself. I always thought it was too risky to be a freelance illustrator because you never know if it’s going to work out or if you’ll earn enough money to make a living out of it.   That’s why, in the end, I’m so glad these people said no to me; otherwise, I would have never had the courage to start my own thing. The funny thing is, three weeks after I started Trendydoodles, I had a callback for a job! I didn’t want to drop my new project, so I asked if I could work part time and they said yes!

SB: How old were you when you became interested in drawing?

C: As far as I remember, I’ve always loved drawing. I was very easy as a kid because my parents could just give me a pen and some paper and I would draw quietly for hours!

SB: Okay, I know this is going to sound cliché, but who are your influences?

C: To be honest I don’t think I have any. I try to invent my own style, and I don’t like copying.  It’s unfair to the other artist and there is no honor in taking someone else’s ideas.  There is one artist I admire beyond words: William-Adolphe Bouguereau.  His technique is perfect, and his paintings are so poetic and feminine. I love other painters of course such as Dali, but I don’t want to draw “tortured” or depressing things. My drawings are not deep or meaningful.  I just want to make people happy with cute and positive doodles.

SB: Your doodles are very beautiful, how long would you say it takes you to perfect one of your creations?

C: Thank you! It doesn’t take very long because they are super small. It usually takes between 30 minutes and 1 hour.

SB: If you could have any person (living or dead) sit before you waiting to be “doodle-ized”, who would it be?

C: That’s a good question! The first woman that comes to my mind is Cleopatra because I’m sure she was a great beauty (she had quite a good sense of fashion ).   I would also love to meet Dita Von Teese.  She’s gorgeous and seems like a really nice person.

SB: In let’s say, 5 years, where do you see yourself and your artwork going?

C: I just started building my own e-shop.  I’m going to sell iPhone cases, temporary tattoos, and other girly stuff.  I hope this will work out!  Who knows maybe in 5 years I’ll have the opportunity to illustrate book covers or music albums.   I’m open to any opportunities.  Basically, I’d like it to be my full-time job. I also hope that I will make progress as an artist because my technique is far from being perfect!

Trendydoodles

We feel so fortunate to have a piece of her artwork!  If you are looking for an adorable, charming, and stylish print to add to your home or office décor, please visit Cyrielle’s Tumblr, Trendydoodles to see her vast array of fashionable doodles.  You can follow her on Facebook and Instagram as well.   Her artwork is free for personal use, but if you would like your very own customized portrait, she can make one just for you, just like she did for us!

TrendyDoodles_stalkingbeauty_Square

This is our very own doodle made by Cyrielle! Don’t you just love it!

The process is easy, and she is the sweetest and super easy to talk to.  All you need to do is email her @ trendydoodles@gmail.com , and let her know what you would like.

tumblr_mwklx4yDbK1slret5o1_1280

Before you know it, your wall will be a trending topic!

SB_signature

2 thoughts on “The Trend is Mightier Than The Word

Leave a Reply

