DIY: Gold Typography

I have gold rush fever, and I can’t stop giving things the Midas touch!

My recent endeavor is gold typography.  I have been seeing a lot of really great quotes or art in this glamorous medium, and I can’t help but join in on the bling crafting fun.

gold foil print roundup 2.5

Image Via: Peonies + Brass

There a lot of ways you can do the typography art, but I didn’t want to spend any extra money, so I used some items that I already have to create my own little slice of gilded quotable bliss.

Materials I used:

Gold_Frame_Materials

Silhouette, Bic Yellow Gold Permanent Markers $6, White Cardstock, Ikea Frame $4

The quote I chose for my soon to be framed art is the Louise Hay affirmation, “Always Believe Something Wonderful Is About to Happen” because I know that’s a constant thing I need to remind myself everyday.

So I fired up my Silhouette machine, chose a font that I wanted my quote in, and made a stencil with cardstock.  I put the stenciled cardstock over white paper and carefully taped each side.  I then colored it in using the Yellow Gold Bic marker on white paper.

Optional: You can also give it some extra sparkle by adding some glitter for a little twinkle.  I used some gold glitter  by spraying a little adhesive and then sprinkling it randomly on the paper.  I let dry overnight just to make sure & then framed it in an Ikea frame.

Gold_Frame_Materials_2

Voila!

Gold_Pring_Final.jpg

Here is my finished creation! I can’t wait to do more.  I think next time I will play around with some gold foil.

Blowing-Glitter

Clarity_Signature

Leave a Reply

