Orange You Glad It’s Nails

It began with this ring.

IMG_8080_sm

About a week ago, I found this really fabulous rustic gold & orange elephant ring.  It has kinda an Indian vibe to it and was simply calling my name!

I was so excited with my new purchase that I had to have the right manicure for it.  Looking through all my polishes, I chose an orangey coral from Avon called “Orange You Quick” that I hadn’t used in a while with my American Apparel Metallic “Gold Flash” that I’m uber obsessed with lately.

IMG_8077_smAren’t they pretty?!

Okay, so before I show you my big reveal, I just wanted to share with you some of my self manicure tips!  I feel like a doctor every time I do my mani because of all the tools I whip out.  I should have someone wiping my forehead every time I paint a nail.

IMG_8072_sm

Tools Used

Earth Therapeutics Cuticle Nipper  $5, Revlon Cuticle Trimmer  $3, Tweezerman Matchbox Itty Bitty Files $11, Cotton Swabs, E.L.F Nail Polish Remover Pads $2, Avon Nail Experts Cuticle Scrub  $4, Lush Lemony Flutter Cuticle Butter 1.5oz  $17, Julep Essential Cuticle Oil $18, Alcohol Prep Swabs  $2.37

Manicure Prep Steps

1. Take off previous polish- On one of my Target hauls, I bought nail polish remover from E.L.F and believe it or not it’s really good for 2 bucks.  It smells citrusy good too! It usually takes 2 pads to to wipe all of the polish off.

2. Wash hands & apply cuticle scrub. I gently scrub my cuticles and push them down with my nail.

3.  Carefully  & gently remove cuticle.  Using my cuticle nipper and trimmer, I remove excess cuticle.

3. Wash & Dry Hands

4. File my nails

5. Wipe nails with alcohol prep swabs to remove any oils or dirt.

4. Paint Nails. I always apply a base coat before I paint my nails, followed by the polish, and then a top coat.

5.  Manicure Maintenance. After my nails are dry, I put some Lush Lemony Flutter Cuticle butter all over my hands.  It makes them feel smooth.  I also put the Julep cuticle oil around the edge of nails to maintain my manicure and it gives your nails a healthy glow.

Big Reveal

IMG_8083_sm

I did one accent nail on each hand by simply putting the Gold Flash Metallic polish as an overlay over the orange.  I just swooped it on after my nails were dry, of course, to give it a vintage rustic feel.

FYI: I tried the Pam Cooking Spray Trick to see if my nails would dry faster, and it created some bubbles on my polish which I didn’t like.  It did dry them quicker but on some nails the polish would smear off a little.  At least for me,  still on the fence about this ‘nail hack’.  I don’t know, maybe I didn’t do it right.  If anybody has any suggestions on how to use the cooking spray correctly to quick-dry your nails, let me know!

6 thoughts on “Orange You Glad It’s Nails

Leave a Reply

