DIY: Anthropologie Bobbies

anthropins

Via: Antropologie 

Inspired by our blogger friend Classy in Class‘ post called Antropologie Hacks I set out to do my very own Antropologie DIY hack.

 I chose the bobbie pins because I thought they were easy to make, and I had all the materials I needed which meant I didn’t have to spend anything on it, yaaay!

All you will need for this project is the following materials:

♥ Bobbie Pins

♥ Buttons or old pieces of broken jewelry that you have lying around

♥ Glue Gun & Glue sticks

1.Put a dab of glue on the back of the button or jewelry and adhere it to the bobbie pin.  2. When you are sticking the the jeweled/button piece make sure that you open up the bobbie pin using your finger so it only sticks to one side of the pin.  3. Make sure you stick the bobbie pin as quickly as possible because the glue tends to dry pretty fast.

2014-01-16 17.27.44

I used my finished creations the next day just to  make sure that they dried completely.  Looking back, I would have used different glue because by the end of the day 2 of the buttons came off.  Maybe Gorilla glue would have been better or some other type of glue that adheres with metal.

Afterwards, I found this cool cheat sheet that tells you the type of glue to use depending on the material you are using.  I wanted to share it with you all to help you with any DIY projects you are thinking of doing.

Via: Design Sponge 
 

Overall, it was a fun experience!  The best part was that my cost to make this was $0 as opposed to Anthropologie’s $24 price tag for a set of 4 hair pins.

It’s a definite DIY win!

3 thoughts on “DIY: Anthropologie Bobbies

Leave a Reply

