Dove: Lather Yourself With A Social Cause

You’re not just lathering on Dove, but spreading a social change!

I have been delightfully enlightened by the way Dove has chosen to advertise their products.  They are not hiring models or celebrities to fake orgasms as they wash up with soap or use soft lighting to show how their creams miraculously vanish imperfections.  No, they are using media for a social cause!  They are making sure that women of all sizes, shapes, and color feel good about themselves!

“At Dove, we are committed to creating a world where beauty is a source of confidence, not anxiety.”

In my opinion, they are doing a wonderful job in trying to redefine what real beauty is!

On July 2, 2013 Dove released a new Ad called Dove Camera Shy where they pose the question, “When did we stop thinking we are beautiful?”  It’s a montage of women trying to hide from the camera.

It really makes you think, “When did I stop thinking I was beautiful?” or “Why do I have to wear makeup and my best clothes to be on camera?”  Did our confidence in our beauty leave us at age 10?

I know they are still trying to sell me a product by telling me that if I use their soap, I will be breaking down society’s unrealistic, unobtainable, and photoshopped beauty standards.  But in the end, I’d rather buy a real cause than a fake dream.

Other Link:

Leave a Reply

