Film Review: The Bling Ring

The-Bling-Ring-poster-trailerjpg-744x1000 (1)

In 2008, I remember Juicy tracksuits, Les Deux, and the now infamous, Bling Ring (a group of teens that robbed the homes  of celebrities like Paris Hilton, Lindsay Lohan, and Rachel Bilson).

Sofia Coppola’s latest film, The Bling Ring, follows the lives of those that were linked to the notorious crimes.  As opposed to making a documentary, she chose to tell a story that explored the concept of youth and it’s fascination with the rich and famous.

Being a fan of Lost in Translation and The Virgin Suicides, I’ll admit, I went in with high expectations. And I can honestly say, I was not disappointed.

the-bling-ring-skip-crop

Emma Watson and the rest of the cast, did a great job portraying star crazed teens looking for cheap thrills in fantasy world of glitz and glam.

The Bling Ring Movie

bling

blingring

I’m sure Alexis Neiers would be proud.

For those of you who don’t know who that is, here’s a brief history lesson for you:

 “The Suspects Wore Louboutins

Written by Nancy Jo Sales for Vanity Fair.

blingring

 Now, on the other hand, when the film premiered in Cannes, real life victim, Paris Hilton told a reporter that she felt “violated watching the scenes in which the criminals ransack her house.” She then went on to add,  “It just made me really angry and upset, and when I see these kids, I want to, like, slap them.”

Well, Paris, you and me both.

But I did enjoy Coppola’s interpretation of events. 9/10.

thatshot

Leave a Reply

