Film Review: The Purge

This weekend, it was my best friend’s birthday–we drank, laughed, and went out to the movies.  Nothing really caught our eye until we saw the film poster for The Purge, or as we like to say, “the new Ethan Hawke movie.” For a Saturday night, the movie theater wasn’t so packed but then again, there really hasn’t been anything worth watching.

As we finally sat down and watched what felt like a million previews, the film began…
the-purge-poster

Before I get into the plot, I just have to say, that even though Ethan Hawke is older, he still looks good. He’s very convincing as a loving father and husband. Of course, there was a particular moment, where I was like “omg! really?” For those of you who have watched the film, I know you thought the exact same thing when he asked his wife to stab the bloody stranger!

Anyways, I thought the film was like a mix of The Strangers  and Panic Room. There was a lot of suspense that kept me at the edge of my seat. And plenty of “girl, he’s right behind you” moments. As for the ending, I was not expecting it at all. I wouldn’t be surprised if they made a Purge 2.

Vigilandia

purge

It was fun and entertaining. Definitely served as a conversation starter for the drive back home.  9/10.

purge1

Leave a Reply

