Lotion Potion

  My skin gets dry really fast, and I continuously have to put on lotion.  I have about 6 different store bought lotions that I alternately use.  When I read about this easy-to-make lotion, I was DIYing to make it because it said that it leaves the skin soft and smelling good.  Anybody can make this lotion, and it took me about 5 minutes to whip it up!

All the ingredients used to make this body lotion are store bought products that include petroleum jelly, vitamin E cream/lotion, and baby lotion.  I originally got the recipe from One Good Thing By Jillee, but they got it from Patchwork Times, so it’s up to you which one you want to use.  I ended up using the second website because I couldn’t find any solid based coconut oil at my local Dollar Tree or 99Cent store that can be used as a replacement to the petroleum jelly.

 If you don’t find it either, Amazon sells the exact one used by One Good Thing By Jille.  I also didn’t find any Vitamin E cream, so I decided to use Vitamin E lotion.  Vitamin E cream is normally used on the face, so I did some research and found some at Walmart.  I’m not sure if it makes a difference or not.  If any of you make this, please send me feedback with your findings.

I ended up using the following exact proportions:

  • 12oz of Baby Lotion
  • 60z of Petroleum Jelly
  • 60z of Vitamin E Lotion


Lotion_DIY_Ingredients

The only thing I measured out was the Vitamin E lotion because it was 17oz 

Lotion_DIY_Measuring

I put all the ingredients together and just whipped them up using a mixer

Lotion_DIY_PreMixing

Lotion_DIY_Mixed

I bought these cute apothecary jars at the 99cent store and 2 batches filled 3 jars.  You can put them in mason jars  whatever you’d like, just make sure it’s air tight. 

Lotion_DIY_ThreeJars

I designed some gift tags and put some ribbon on, and presto! Ready to gift.

Lotion_DIY_Final_square

My Personal Review 

On a scale from 1-10, I give this lotion a solid 5.  I didn’t think it was the best thing in the whole world.  I lathered some on my feet and put some socks on before I went to bed and the following morning my feet where somewhat smooth, but nothing out of the ordinary.  I think I will try making this again using the coconut oil and the vitamin e cream and see if there is a difference.  I will keep you posted!

Until Next Time, Happy DIYing!

Leave a Reply

